Board of Trustees

To support the institute in a more societal context and advise on scientific policy, a Board of Trustees is assembled for a period of six years. Apart from scientists, the members are representatives from politics and industry. They facilitate the communication between the institute and the public and contribute insights into diverse areas of science, politics, economics and media.

The Board of Trustees convenes once per year. It is currently composed of the following members:

Susanne Ahmed, LMRin

Senior Ministerial Councilor, Department 32 Ministry of Science, Research and Art of the State of Baden-Württemberg

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann

Chairman and Scientific Director, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg

Dr. Friedrich von Bohlen und Halbach


Prof. Dr. Frauke Melchior

President, Ruprecht-Karls University, Heidelberg

Dr. Dr. h.c. Peter Goelitz

Former Editor in Chief, Angewandte Chemie, Weinheim

Prof. Dr. Ingo Autenrieth

Chairman of the Board and Chief Medical Director, Heidelberg University Hospital

Prof. Dr. Peer Bork

Director, European Molecular Biology Laboratory EMBL

Dr. Tilman Krauch

Member of the Management Board, Freudenberg SE, Weinheim

Dr. Heinrich Lohstöter (Chairman)

Heinrich Lohstöter Foundation, Munich

Dr. Gitte Neubauer

CEO, Cellzome GmbH, Glaxo Smith Klinet

Andrea Stegemann

Editor-in-chief, Bild der Wissenschaft

Nikolaus Turner

Managing Director and Member of the Executive Board, Foundation Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, Lindau

Prof. Dr. Eckart Würzner

Mayor, City of Heidelberg

Go to Editor View